Graduate students from other fields who wish to pursue a minor in philosophy should consult with the assistant to the chair of the department. Minor candidates are required to take a minimum of three courses in philosophy for a total of at least 9 credits. Normally, at least two of these courses, for at least 5 credits, must be taken in residence on campus.

Most courses numbered 400 and above are open to minor candidates, as are graduate courses and seminars numbered 700 and above. Minor candidates who wish to enroll for independent reading should consult with the assistant to the chair; a student may be enrolled for an independent reading course only with the explicit consent of the instructor.

Faculty: Professors Shafer-Landau (chair), Brighouse, Card, Forster, Gottlieb, Hausman, Hunt, Nadler, Shapiro, Sidelle, Sober, Vranas; Associate Professor Streiffer; Assistant Professors Bengson, Mackay, Masrour, Paul, Schechtman, Titelbaum