1

NUTRITIONAL SCIENCES, B.S. NUTRITION AND DIETETICS

CERTIFICATION/LICENSURE

ELEVATED EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR THE FUTURE REGISTERED DIETITIAN NUTRITIONIST (RDN)

The registration examination for RDNs is designed to evaluate a candidate's ability to perform at the entry-level, and currently, candidates must hold the minimum of a baccalaureate degree to take the exam. In 2013, Commission on Dietetics Registration (CDR) moved to change the entry-level registration eligibility requirements for RDNs; instead of requiring a Baccalaureate degree, the educational preparation for the future entry-level RDN is now the minimum of a master's degree. **CDR's mandate goes into effect January 1, 2024.**

CURRENT STUDENTS

Students completing dietetics coursework and a dietetic internship by January 1, 2024 will still be eligible to take the RDN exam with a baccalaureate degree.

PROSPECTIVE STUDENTS

Freshmen declaring Pre-Dietetics in 2020 and beyond will be held to the new 2024 mandate, which will require students to hold the minimum of a master's degree in order to be eligible to take the RDN exam.

PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATION/ LICENSURE DISCLOSURE (NC-SARA)

The United States Department of Education requires institutions that provide distance education to disclose information for programs leading to professional certification or licensure about whether each program meets state educational requirements for initial licensure or certification. Following is this disclosure information for this program:

The requirements of this program meet Certification/ Licensure in the following states: Wisconsin

The requirements of this program do not meet Certification/Licensure in the following states: The requirements of this program have not been determined if they meet Certification/Licensure in the following states:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming; District of Columbia; American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands