1

BUSINESS: ACCOUNTING, BBA

CERTIFICATION/LICENSURE

CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT (CPA)

The state of Wisconsin, and most other states, mandate that candidates for the CPA license must have earned a bachelor's or higher degree and 150 credit hours. There are several degree options for completing these requirements at the University of Wisconsin – Madison, including:

- Master of Accountancy (MAcc): Students who earn the Master of Accountancy degree will meet the CPA requirements in most states. Students can pursue the MAcc degree through different paths, including:
 - a. **Integrated:** Undergraduate business students pursuing the accounting major in the School of Business are eligible to apply for the Integrated Master of Accountancy (IMAcc) program. Students pursuing the IMAcc program will earn a Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA) degree with a major in accounting along with a MAcc degree, typically in about 5-years total. The IMAcc program culminates with students earning a minimum of 150-credits and eligibility for the CPA exam.
 - b. Stand-alone: Any student who has earned a four-year undergraduate degree, in any discipline, from an accredited institution, may pursue the MAcc program. Students with an undergraduate major in accounting will complete a 1-year, 30credit program. Any students applying with a non-business undergraduate major will complete a 2-year, 54-credit program. Upon graduation from the MAcc program, students will have a minimum of 150-credits and will be eligible for the CPA exam.

2. Undergraduate Business Degree with Accounting Major: Students can meet the eligibility requirements for the CPA exam by completing a 120-credit BBA degree with a major in accounting along with 30-additional credits to meet the 150-credit requirement. Students pursuing this option should carefully consider the CPA eligibility requirements in the state in which they intend to get certified as many states will require additional accounting credits beyond what is included in the BBA accounting major. Students can earn the additional 30-credits as follows:

- a. **Advanced Credits from High School:** College credits earned in high school that are reflected on a student's UW-Madison transcript may count towards the 30-additional credits for CPA eligibility.
- b. **Double Major:** Students may pursue an additional undergraduate major to achieve the additional 30-credits for CPA eligibility.
- c. **Non-accounting Advanced Degree:** Students who earn an undergraduate degree with a major in accounting and any other advanced degree (specialized masters, MBA, Law School, etc.) may be eligible for the CPA exam as long as they have 150-total credits.
- d. Undergraduate Credits: Students may earn the additional 30credits by taking any undergraduate courses at a degree-granting institution.

Please consult the Department of Accounting and Information Systems (http://guide.wisc.eduhttps:/business.wisc.edu/faculty-research/accounting-information-systems/) for additional information.

PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATION/ LICENSURE DISCLOSURE (NC-SARA)

The United States Department of Education requires institutions that provide distance education to disclose information for programs leading to professional certification or licensure about whether each program meets state educational requirements for initial licensure or certification. Following is this disclosure information for this program:

The requirements of this program meet Certification/ Licensure in the following states: Wisconsin

The requirements of this program do not meet Certification/Licensure in the following states: Not applicable

The requirements of this program have not been determined if they meet Certification/Licensure in the following states:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming; District of Columbia; American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands