MUSIC: EDUCATION, B.M.

CERTIFICATION/LICENSURE

ADDITIONAL CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS AND APPLYING FOR A LICENSE

Student interested in certification must, in addition to completing UW– Madison's program requirements, also complete Wisconsin statutory requirements and certification requirements established by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction. For additional certification requirements and information about applying for a license, see Teacher Education Center (https://tec.education.wisc.edu/).

The Department of Public Instruction (DPI) requires higher GPAs for licensure. Students who meet the GPA requirements for the BM: Music Education and not the GPA requirements for licensure will need to work with the Undergraduate Music Advisor, the Music Education Faculty, and the Teacher Education Center to complete alternative work. Requirements for licensure are as follows:

- 3.000 cumulative GPA in all MUSIC and MUSIC PERFORMANCE coursework
- 2.750 cumulative GPA in all UW-Madison coursework

PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATION/ LICENSURE DISCLOSURE (NC-SARA)

The United States Department of Education requires institutions that provide distance education to disclose information for programs leading to professional certification or licensure about whether each program meets state educational requirements for initial licensure or certification. Following is this disclosure information for this program:

The requirements of this program meet Certification/ Licensure in the following states:

Wisconsin

The requirements of this program do not meet Certification/Licensure in the following states: Not applicable

The requirements of this program have not been determined if they meet Certification/Licensure in the following states:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Vermont, Washington, Wyoming, District of Columbia, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, U.S. Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Puerto Rico