The department offers an undergraduate certificate in physics. An understanding of the physical universe informs many disciplines. The study of physics is essential to understanding nature and to advancing technology in the coming century. A certificate in physics increases the opportunities for students to become better informed on technological issues at the local, state, national, and international levels.

The certificate is designed to serve undergraduates majoring in biology, chemistry, mathematics, engineering, education and other fields who wish to extend their study of physics beyond what may be required or recommended for their major without completing the full L&S physics major requirements.

To declare a certificate in physics, the student must fill out a major/certificate declaration form. An undergraduate physics advisor must sign the form. The form to declare the certificate can be obtained at the Department of Physics office in 2320 Chamberlin Hall.

Physics certificate

1. All undergraduates and Special students are eligible (physics majors are not eligible).
2. The certificate will be awarded upon completion of requirements.
3. At least 9 of the credits must be in residence.
4. Only graded courses may be used toward the certificate.
5. A minimum grade point average of 2.000 is required for courses used toward the certificate.

Requirements for the Certificate

The physics certificate requires 18 credits of undergraduate PHYSICS courses numbered 200 and higher with the following restrictions:

Maximum 1 First Introductory Course
Select one of the following:5
A Modern Introduction to Physics (recommended)
General Physics
General Physics
and Dynamics 1
and Dynamics 1
Maximum 1 Second Introductory Course
Select one of the following:5
A Modern Introduction to Physics (recommended)
General Physics
General Physics
Maximum 1 Third Introductory Course
Select one of the following:5
A Modern Introduction to Physics (recommended)
Modern Physics for Engineers
Introduction to Solid State Electronics
Introduction to Modern Physics
Maximum 3 credits of PHYSICS Directed Study
Select one of the following:3
Directed Study
Directed Study
Directed Study
Directed Study
Total Credits18

 A maximum of 5 credits from E M A 201 Statics, E M A 202 Dynamics and M E 240 Dynamics count toward the 18 required.


Students may not transfer into the PHYSICS 247PHYSICS 248PHYSICS 249 sequence from another introductory sequence.

No more than 3 credits of independent study and no special topics courses may be used to satisfy this requirement.

Physics Undergraduate Advisors

Professor Dan McCammon
6207 Chamberlin Hall
Tel: 608.262.5916

Professor Stefan Westerhoff
4209 Chamberlin Hall
Tel: 608.262.3989

Professor Michael Winokur
5106 Chamberlin Hall
Tel: 608.262.5425

AMEP Advisor

Professor Cary Forest
3277 Chamberlin Hall


Yang Bai, Associate Professor

Baha Balantekin, Professor

Vernon Barger, Professor

Stas Boldyrev, Professor

Victor Brar, Assistant Professor

Duncan Carlsmith, Professor

Daniel Chung, Professor

Susan Coppersmith, Professor

Sridhara Dasu, Professor

Jan Egedal, Associate Professor

Mark Eriksson, Professor

Lisa Everett, Professor

Cary Forest, Professor

Pupa Gilbert, Professor

Francis Halzen, Professor

Kael Hanson, Professor

Aki Hashimoto, Professor

Matthew Herndon, Professor

Lev Ioffe, Professor

Robert Joynt, Professor

Albrecht Karle, Department Chairperson and Professor

James Lawler, Professor

Alex Levchenko, Assistant Professor

Chun Lin, Professor

Dan McCammon, Professor and Undergraduate Advisor

Robert McDermott, Professor

Marshall Onellion, Professor

Kimberly Palladino, Assistant Professor

Yibin Pan, Associate Professor

Mark Rzchowski, Associate Chair and Professor

Mark Saffman, Professor

John Sarff, Professor

Gary Shiu, Professor

Wesley Smith, Professor

Paul Terry, Professor

Peter Timbie, Professor

Justin Vandenbroucke, Assistant Professor

Maxim Vavilov, Professor

Thad Walker, Professor

Stefan Westerhoff, Professor and Undergraduate Advisor

Michael Winokur, Professor and Undergraduate Advisor

Sau Lan Wu, Professor

Deniz Yavuz, Professor

Ellen Zweibel, Professor