Students from departments outside of Civil and Environmental Engineering can receive a doctoral minor in civil and environmental engineering. The minor must be approved by the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering. The minor approval form is available at the department office. The completed form must be returned to the department office for review and approval. 

1. A minimum of 9 formal course credits (not independent study or research credits) taken in Civil and Environmental Engineering.

2. Courses must be numbered 300 or above in Civil and Environmental Engineering.

3. Two of the courses must be numbered 500 or above in Civil and Environmental Engineering.

4. Only one of the courses may be cross listed in the student’s major department and cannot be used to satisfy the student’s major requirements.

5. No examinations are required other than those given in each course.

Civil and Environmental Engineering Faculty: Professors Noyce (chair), Adams, Bahia, Cramer, Feigl, Hanna, Harrington, Holloway, Hurley, Karthikeyan, Lee, Likos, Long, McMahon, Noguera, Park, Parra-Montesinos (director), Pedersen, Potter, Ran, Russell, Schauer, Wu; Associate Professors Ahn, Fratta, Hurley, Loheide, Pincheira, Tinjum; Assistant Professors Block, Gadikota, Ginder-Vogel, Hedegaard, Hicks, Prabhakar, Remucal, Sone, Wang, Wright. See also CEE faculty.

Geological Engineering Faculty: Professors Likos (director) (Civil and Environmental Engineering), Anderson (Geoscience), Bahr (Geoscience), Feigl (Geoscience), Goodwin (Geoscience), Holloway (Nelson Institute), Thurber (Geoscience), Tikoff (Geoscience), Tobin (Geoscience), Wang (Geoscience), Wu (Civil and Environmental Engineering); Associate Professors Fratta (Civil and Environmental Engineering), Loheide (Civil and Environmental Engineering), Tinjum (Engineering Professional Development); Assistant Professors Cardiff (Geoscience), Ginder-Vogel (Civil and Environmental Engineering), Hicks (Civil and Environmental Engineering), Sone (Civil and Environmental Engineering), Zoet (Goscience); Affiliate Professors Kung (Soil Science), Lowery (Soil Science), Plesha (Engineering Physics), Potter (Civil and Environmental Engineering). See also GLE faculty.

Environmental Chemisty and Technology: Professors Hurley (director) (Civil and Environmental Engineering), Bertram (Chemistry),  Bleam (Soil Science), Ginder-Vogel (Civil and Environmental Engineering), Gadikota (Civil and Environmental Engineering), Harrington (Civil and Environmental Engineering), Karthikeyan (Biological Systems Engineering), McMahon (Civil and Environmental Engineering/Bacteriology), Pedersen (Soil Science), Remucal (Civil and Environmental Engineering), Roden (Geoscience), Root (Chemical and Biological Engineering), Schauer (Civil and Environmental Engineering), Thompson (Biological Systems Engineering). See also ECT Faculty.