Course requirements for the minor include:

  • A minimum of 9 credits
  • All courses must be at the 400 level or above, and at least two courses must be at the 600 level or above
  • No audits or pass/fail
  • Maximum of 3 credits of COM ARTS 799 Independent Study
  • An average GPA of 3.0 on all minor coursework

After coursework has been completed, the student presents the Minor Agreement Form to their advisor in the minor for signature. The Minor Agreement Form should be returned to the student's major department graduate coordinator for help in preparing the warrant.

Program Note: Although students choose a distinct area of study for the minor degree in Communication Arts, the area of study will not be reflected on the transcript; rather it will be recorded as Minor: Communication Arts.


Professors Kelley Conway (chair), Robert Asen, Jonathan Gray, Robert Glenn Howard, Lea Jacobs, Derek Johnson, Marie-Louise Mares, Zhongdang Pan, Jeff Smith, Lyn Van Swol, and Michael Xenos

Associate Professors Eric Hoyt, Jenell Johnson, Lori Lopez, Sara McKinnon, Jeremy Morris, Ben Singer, and Catalina Toma

Assistant Professors Jason Lopez, Allison Prasch, and Lillie D. Williamson