Ph.D. students from other UW–Madison graduate programs who wish to earn a minor degree in Electrical Engineering are required to complete a minimum of 9 credits of Electrical and Computer Engineering courses numbered 400 or above, approved by the E C E department, with grades of B or better. In addition, at least three of these 9 credits must be earned in courses numbered 700 or above. At most, one course cross-listed with the student's major program may be counted toward the minor credits provided such a course is taught by E C E faculty. Moreover, such a course cannot be applied to satisfy the student's major requirements. No examinations are required other than those given in the courses.


Susan Hagness (Chair)
David T. Anderson
Nader Behdad
John Booske
Dan Botez
Azadeh Davoodi
John A. Gubner (Associate Chair for Operations)
William N. Hitchon
Yu Hen Hu
Hongrui Jiang
Irena Knezevic
Bernard Lesieutre (Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies)*
Mikko Lipasti
Zhenqiang Ma
Luke J. Mawst
Robert Nowak
Parameswaran Ramanathan
William A. Sethares
Daniel van der Weide
Barry Van Veen (Associate Chair for Graduate and Online Studies)
Giri Venkataramanan
Amy E. Wendt

Associate Professors

Mikhail Kats
Daniel Ludois
Paul H. Milenkovic
Umit Ogras
Bulent Sarlioglu
Zongfu Yu

Assistant Professors

Joseph Andrews
Kassem Fawaz
Dominic Gross
Chirag Gupta
Younghyun Kim
Bhuvana Krishnaswamy
Kangwook Lee
Chu Ma
Matthew Malloy (adjunct)
Dimitris Papailiopoulos
Shubhra Pasayat
Line Roald
Joshua San Miguel
Eric Severson
Andreas Velten
Ramya Korlakai Vinayak
Ying Wang

Faculty Associates

Mark C. Allie
Eduardo Arvelo
Steven Fredette
Eric Hoffman
Joe Krachey
Srdjan Milicic
Pia Strampp (associate lecturer)

*For scholarship information, please contact Professor Lesieutre.

See also Electrical and Computer Engineering Faculty Directory.