wsb-corporatefinance-mba

Students apply to the Business: Finance, Investment and Banking, MSB through the named option:

Graduate School Resources

Resources to help you afford graduate study might include assistantships, fellowships, traineeships, and financial aid. Further funding information is available from the Graduate School. Be sure to check with your program for individual policies and restrictions related to funding.

Minimum Graduate School Requirements

Review the Graduate School minimum academic progress and degree requirements, in addition to the program requirements listed below.

Major Requirements

MODE OF INSTRUCTION

Face to Face Evening/Weekend Online Hybrid Accelerated
Yes No No No No

Mode of Instruction Definitions

CURRICULAR REQUIREMENTS

Minimum Credit Requirement 33 credits
Minimum Residence Credit Requirement 27 credits
Minimum Graduate Coursework Requirement Half of degree coursework (17 credits out of 33 total credits) must be completed graduate-level coursework; courses with the Graduate Level Coursework attribute are identified and searchable in the university's Course Guide.
Overall Graduate GPA Requirement 3.00 GPA required.
Other Grade Requirements The Graduate School requires that students maintain a graduate grade-point average (GPA) of 3.00 (on a 4.00 scale) for all graduate courses (excluding research) to receive a degree. Grades of Incomplete are considered to be unsatisfactory if they are not removed during the first four weeks of the following semester. Students may be required to retake a course in which they receive a grade lower than a C.
Assessments and Examinations No required assessments or examinations beyond course requirements.
Language Requirements No language requirements.

Required COURSES

Select the Named Option for courses required.

Named Options

A named option is a formally documented sub-major within an academic major program. Named options appear on the transcript with degree conferral. Students pursuing the MSB in Business: Finance, Investment and Banking must select one of the following named options:

Students should refer to the named option for policy information:

Graduate School Resources

Take advantage of the Graduate School's professional development resources to build skills, thrive academically, and launch your career. 

  1. Develop the ability to assess the value of publicly traded equity and fixed income securities.
  2. Articulate the common causes of mispriced securities, develop techniques to find these securities, and acquire insight as to how to evaluate the success of their process and decisions.
  3. Develop the ability to build portfolios that are designed to produce consistent positive returns and/or outperform benchmarks without taking on significant absolute or incremental risk.
  4. Develop the ability to communicate and collaborate effectively within an organization.
  5. Understand the importance of ethical behavior within the industry and have an understanding of how to work through ethical dilemmas as they arise.

For more information about the faculty and their research interests, please visit the directory.

David Brown, B.A., Ph.D.
Professor
Academic Director of the Hawk Center for Investment Analysis
david.p.brown@wisc.edu

Briana Chang, B.S., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
briana.chang@wisc.edu

Dean Corbae, B.A., Ph.D.
Professor
dean.corbae@wisc.edu

Bjorn Eraker, Ph.D.
Professor
bjorn.eraker@wisc.edu

Mark Fedenia, B.S., M.S., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
mfedenia@wisc.edu

James Johannes, B.A., M.S., Ph.D.
Professor
Director, Puelicher Center for Banking Education
james.johannes@wisc.edu

Oliver Levine, B.S., M.A., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
oliver.levine@wisc.edu

Antonio Mello, B.S., MBA, M.A., Ph.D.
Professor
Academic Director of the Nicholas Center for Corporate Finance and Investment Banking
antonio.mello@wisc.edu

Dmitry Orlov
Assistant Professor
dmitry.orlov@wisc.edu

Sebastien Plante, B.S., M.S., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
splante@wisc.edu

Erwan Quintin, MBA, Ph.D.
Professor
Department Chair for Finance, Investment, and Banking
quintin@wisc.edu

Roberto Robatto, M.S., M.S., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
robatto@wisc.edu

Sang Byung Seo
Assistant Professor
sang.seo@wisc.edu

Ivan Shaliastovich, B.A., M.A., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
ivan.shaliastovich@wisc.edu

Randall Wright, B.A., M.A., Ph.D.
Professor
randall.wright@wisc.edu

Accreditation

AACSB International—The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business

Accreditation status: Accredited. Next accreditation review: 2021–2022.