Decorative image

The doctoral minor in Linguistics is open to Ph.D. students in other departments who wish to broaden their studies with exposure to formal training in linguistics.

Students wishing to complete a doctoral minor in Linguistics must consult with the Director of Language Sciences before any coursework commences. Courses completed before consultation with the Director may be deemed ineligible to count toward the doctoral minor. See the People page for current Director contact information.

The doctoral minor consists of 12 credits in Linguistics chosen in consultation with the Language Sciences Director, who is the minor advisor.

A doctoral minor program must be approved by the minor advisor before it commences. Students should make sure to consult with the minor advisor before taking any courses.

Professors Ellis Weismer, Hutton, Kaushanskaya, Li, Louden, Lupyan, Macaulay, Macdonald, Purnell, Raimy, Saffron, Salmons, Seidenberg, Tejedo-Herrero, Wanner; Associate Professors Armstrong, Rao, Vieira; Assistant Professors Cho, Henke, Horton, Niziolek; Instructional Administrator Shields