Graduate students from other fields who wish to pursue a minor in philosophy should consult with the assistant to the chair of the department. Minor candidates are required to take a minimum of three courses in philosophy for a total of at least 9 credits. Normally, at least two of these courses, for at least 5 credits, must be taken in residence on campus. Most courses numbered 400 and above are open to minor candidates, as are graduate courses and seminars numbered 800 and above. 

Faculty: Professors Bengson, Brighouse, Clatterbuck, Fletcher, Gibson, Gottlieb, Kelleher, Mackay, Masrour, Messina, Nadler, Paul, Schechtman, Shafer-Landau, Shapiro, Sidelle, Sober, Southgate, Steinberg, Streiffer, Titelbaum, Vranas, Whittle.