The minor in microbiology requires 10 credits of courses at the 300 level or above offered by the departments of Medical Microbiology and Immunology (M M & I courses) or Bacteriology (MICROBIO courses). At least half of the credits must come from the Microbiology Doctoral Training Program (MDTP) course list. At least one member of the student’s thesis committee must be faculty in either the bacteriology or medical microbiology and immunology departments, and will serve as the student’s minor advisor.

Faculty: Professors Nancy Keller (program director, Medical Microbiology and Immunology), and Garret Suen (vice-director, Bacteriology) lead the current MDTP Steering Committee. For a list of more than 90 participating faculty, see the program website or contact the program office.