Geographic information science (GIScience) addresses the fundamental issues surrounding the use of computer technology to help people work with geographic information. GIScience is a field devoted to the acquisition, representation, management, analysis, and visualization of geospatial data. It is a relatively new discipline that incorporates geography, cartography, spatial analysis, computer science and other related fields, including geodesy, cognition, statistics, and mathematics. As an academic discipline, GIScience is concerned with both theoretical and applied issues relating to the creation, analysis, and visualization of spatiotemporal information. It is inherently interdisciplinary in both its methods and applications. Here at UW–Madison, we are committed to the integration of GIScience with substantive geographic questions.


All Graduate School students must utilize the Graduate Student Portal in MyUW to add, change, or discontinue any doctoral minor. To apply to this minor, log in to MyUW, click on Graduate Student Portal, and then click on Add/Change Programs. Select the information for the doctoral minor for which you are applying.

For more information, contact the Graduate Program Director.


All students pursuing a concentrated minor in Cartography and Geographic Information Systems are required to connect with a faculty member with whom they can work to establish a reasonable course list to complete 9 credits in the department. That faculty member will, ultimately, be responsible for signing off on completion of the minor. Students interested in the Cartography and Geographic Information Systems minor are encouraged to explore the department's faculty pages and contact one or more faculty with shared research interests.



Department Chair: John (Jack) Williams

Professors: Ian Baird, Erika Marin-Spiotta, Joseph Mason, Lisa Naughton, Kristopher Olds, Morgan Robertson, Robert Roth, Matthew Turner, John (Jack) Williams, Keith Woodward, A-Xing Zhu

Associate Professors: Song Gao, Asligül Göçmen, Qunying Huang, Jenna Loyd, Sarah Moore, Stephen Young

Assistant Professors: Christian Andresen, Ken Keefover-Ring, Bill Limpisathian, Almita Miranda, Jonathan Nelson