Should you be curious whether an ERP doctoral minor would augment your graduate studies, please contact the program coordinator to discuss your research and career goals. Timing is important—remember that a doctoral minor must be completed before a student can advance to candidacy. Graduate students in their first and second years of study are usually best positioned to add a doctoral minor to their degree plan.

To apply: With support from your advisor and proposed ERP doctoral minor advisor, submit the ERP minor form. The ERP program directors will determine whether an ERP minor is appropriate and feasible. There are no standard deadlines for submission for ERP doctoral minor applications.

While most ERP M.S. and Ph.D. students are funded through graduate appointments and fellowships, we do not generally provide funding for students obtaining an ERP doctoral minor. If the project is relevant to NICHD, an ERP doctoral minor may apply for a funding through the Endocrinology and Reproductive Physiology program's T32 training grant, if funding and space permits.

Credit Requirement

10+ credits

Required Courses
OBS&GYN 710 Reproductive Endocrine Physiology3
AN SCI/​OBS&GYN/​ZOOLOGY  954 Seminar in Endocrinology-Reproductive Physiology (2 semesters, one presentation required)1
Select two courses from the following (2 credits each):4
Advanced Reproductive Endocrine Physiology
Critical Thinking in Reproductive Endocrine Physiology
Endocrinology and Metabolism
Additional coursework selected in consultation with minor advisor

ERP annual Symposium

  • Required to attend annually
  • Required to submit an abstract for a poster / oral presentation each year until degree completion


Professors Ian Bird -director- (Obstetrics and Gynecology), David Abbott (Obstetrics and Gynecology), Elaine Alarid (Oncology), William Bosu (Medical Sciences/Veterinary Medicine), Ted Golos (Comparative Biosciences), Colin Jefcoate (Cell and Regenerative Biology), Hasan Khatib (Dairy Sciences), Pam Kling (Pediatrics), Jon Levine (Neuroscience), Bo Liu (Surgery), Thomas Martin (Biochemistry), James Ntambi (Biochemistry/Nutritional Sciences), Jon Odorico (Surgery), Jon Parrish (Animal Sciences), Manish Patankar -associate director- (Obstetrics and Gynecology), Bret Payseur (Genetics), Francisco Pelegri (Genetics), Richard Peterson (Pharmacy), Linda Schuler (Comparative Biosciences/Veterinary Medicine), Dinesh Shah (Obstetrics and Gynecology), Ei Terasawa (Pediatrics), James Thomson (Cell and Regenerative Biology), Watters (Comparative Biosciences/Veterinary Medicine), Milo Wiltbank (Dairy Science), Wi Xu (Oncology), and Jing Zheng (Obstetrics and Gynecology)

Associate Professors Craig Atwood (Medicine), Anjon Audhya (Biomolecular Chemistry), Dawn Davis (Medicine), Theresa Duello (Obstetrics and Gynecology), Laura Hernandez (Dairy Science), Joan Jorgensen (Comparative Biosciences), Chad Vezina (Comparative Biosciences/Veterinary Medicine)

Assistant Professors Reid Alisch (Psychiatry), Lisa Arendt (Comparative Biosciences), Sebastian Arriola Apelo (Dairy Science), Barak Blum (Cell and Regenerative Biology), Derek Boeldt (Obstetrics and Gynecology), Michael Cahill (Comparative Biosciences/Veterinary Medicine), Ricki Colman (Cell and Regenerative Biology), Feyza Engin (Biomolecular Chemistry), Michelle Kimple (Medicine), Pam Kreeger (Biomedical Engineering), Matthew Merrins (Medicine), Bikash Pattnaik (Pediatrics), Aleks Stanic-Kostic (Obstetrics and Gynecology)