Physics Experiment

The Department of Engineering Physics (EP) within the University of Wisconsin–Madison College of Engineering is the home of three undergraduate degree programs (nuclear engineering, including an option in radiation sciences; engineering mechanics, including an option in aerospace engineering formerly named astronautics; and engineering physics) and two graduate degree programs (nuclear engineering and engineering physics; and engineering mechanics). The department's faculty conducts research in the areas of nuclear systems, plasma physics and fusion energy science, and experimental and theoretical mechanics. This combination of topics fosters synergies with respect to neutronics, nuclear materials, mechanics of novel materials, fluid dynamics, and computation. The graduate nuclear engineering program has been ranked in the top four, nationally, by U.S. News and World Report in each of the past ten years.


Paul Wilson (Chair)
Riccardo Bonazza
Curt A. Bronkhorst
Wendy Crone
Adrien Couet
Chris Hegna
Roderic Lakes
Oliver Schmitz
Carl Sovinec
Kumar Sridharan
Fabian Waleffe


Jennifer Choy
Stephanie Diem
Jennifer Franck
Benedikt Geiger
Ben Lindley
Jacob Notbohm
Ramathasan Thevamaran
Yongfeng Zhang

See also Engineering Physics Faculty Directory.


Facilities available for instruction and research include:

Fluid Mechanics and Heat Transfer Laboratories
Instructional Computing Labs (in Computer Aided Engineering)
Nanomechanics Laboratory
Nuclear Instrumentation Laboratory
Plasma Physics Laboratories
Superconductivity and Cryogenics Laboratories


The Department of Engineering Physics & the College of Engineering have several types of scholarships available to incoming and current engineering students. Students should explore the Wisconsin Scholarship Hub (WiSH), where you can apply to and find specific information on scholarships at UW-Madison. You can use WiSH to find engineering scholarships available through the College of Engineering, the Diversity Affairs Office, the Engineering Physics Department, and other UW and external organizations. (Please note: students must be currently enrolled in, or have applied to, the College of Engineering to be considered for engineering scholarships.) To be matched with these available scholarship funds an application is required and the system is typically open to students in the spring of each year. Questions on the process can be directed to: Additional financial assistance may be awarded through the Office of Student Financial Aid (333 E. Campus Mall RM 9701, 262-3060).