For more than a century, the University of Wisconsin–Madison Department of Bacteriology has been known for outstanding research and teaching, and we are committed to a future in which this excellence will continue. Because we engage people with widely differing backgrounds, talents, perspectives, and styles, we achieve excellence through diversity.

In brief, we produce discoveries that contribute to basic knowledge, we develop practical applications that affect lives, and we provide superior training for the next generation of microbiologists. With our training, undergraduate and graduate students begin careers that contribute to the world in many ways—in research, teaching, industry, entrepreneurship, scientific writing and editing, and government service. Our faculty, staff, and students have created a vibrant place to learn, teach, and conduct research; a place rich in opportunity, ideas, creativity, and resources; and a place where people can flourish and discover their own potential.

Professors Charles Kaspar (chair), Jean-Michel Ané, Cameron Currie, Timothy Donohue, Marcin Filutowicz, Katrina Forest, Richard Gourse, Eric Johnson, John Mansfield, Katherine "Trina" McMahon, Michael Thomas, Karen Wassarman, and Jae-Hyuk Yu

Associate Professor Jue "Jade" Wang

Assistant Professors Daniel Amador-Noguez, Briana Burton, Federico Rey, Garret Suen, and Kalin Vetsigian