Engineering Hall


Students interested in earning the Engineering Mechanics doctoral minor should first contact the Engineering Mechanics Graduate Coordinator to learn the requirements, process, and complete the required paperwork.

All Graduate School students must utilize the Graduate Student Portal in MyUW to add, change, or discontinue any doctoral minor. To apply to this minor, log in to MyUW, click on Graduate Student Portal, and then click on Add/Change Programs. Select the information for the doctoral minor.


Students must fulfill the following requirements to earn a doctoral minor.

  1. Earn a minimum of 10 credits in Engineering Mechanics (E M A) courses, including 3 credits in courses numbered 700 or above.
    1. All courses used for the minor must be numbered 300 or above taken after a bachelor's degree has been completed.
    2. Ordinarily only one course (maximum of 3 credits) of independent study is allowed (E M A 599 Independent Study).
    3. Research and thesis courses may not satisfy minor requirements.
    4. No more than 5 credits completed five or more years prior to admission to the PhD major may satisfy minor requirements.
    5. Courses taken 10 or more years ago may not satisfy minor requirements.
    6. Courses taken pass/fail or for audit may not satisfy minor requirements.
    7. Courses with grades of S given in courses graded on a credit/no credit basis are acceptable.
  2. Maintain a GPA of 3.0 for the minor.

Approval Form

The minor program must be approved by the Department of Mechanical Engineering Associate Chair for Graduate Studies.  The approval form is available from the College of Engineering: Department of Mechanical Engineering Intranet site (NetID required) here or please contact Engineering Mechanics Graduate Coordinator.

Engineering Mechanics MS

A student who has earned an MS degree in Engineering Mechanics (and is currently in a different doctoral program) will be considered to have fulfilled the minor requirements.

Prior Coursework

Up to six credits of coursework completed at other institutions may transfer and be applied towards minor requirements.



Darryl Thelen (Chair)
Peter Adamczyk
Mark Anderson
Riccardo Bonazza
Curt Bronkhorst
Wendy Crone
Christian Franck
Jaal Ghandhi
Sage Kokjohn
Dan Negrut
Gregory F. Nellis
Tim Osswald
Frank Pfefferkorn
Xiaoping Qian
Douglas Reindl
David Rothamer
Scott T. Sanders
Krishnan Suresh
Mario F. Trujillo
Lih-sheng Turng
Fabian Waleffe

Associate Professors

Lianyi Chen
Melih Eriten
Katherine Fu
Tom N. Krupenkin
Ying Li
Franklin Miller
Sangkee Min
Wenxiao Pan
James Pikul
Pavana Prabhakar
Alejandro Roldan-Alzate
Michael Zinn

Assistant Professors

Yunus Alapan
Joseph Andrews
Jennifer Franck
Corinne Henak
Eric Kazyak
Allison Mahvi
Luca Mastropasqua
Jacob Notbohm
Josh Roth
Shiva Rudraraju
Eric Tervo
Ramathasan Thevamaran
Dakotah Thompson
Michael Wagner
Wei Wang
Michael Wehner
Jinlong Wu
Xiaobin Xiong
Xiangru Xu
Lei Zhou

See also Mechanical Engineering Faculty Directory.