bus_accounting_cert

To declare this certificate, students must be admitted to UW–Madison and the School of Business (WSB). To find out more about the school's admissions process for undergraduate students, please see Entering the School.  Contact the Wisconsin BBA Advising Center listed under the Advising and Careers tab for more information or to declare the certificate.

Students may not earn this certificate in conjunction with a BBA in Accounting.

A minimum 2.5 GPA must be earned on all course work applied to meet the requirements of the certificate program.  At least 50% of the certificate credits must be earned in residence at UW-Madison as a degree-seeking undergraduate.  Completion of this certificate satisfies one of the business breadth courses needed for the BBA.  

ACCT I S 301 Financial Reporting I3
ACCT I S Electives9
These electives can include any courses numbered ACCT I S 302 through ACCT I S 699
Total Credits12

 Certificate Completion Requirement

This undergraduate certificate must be completed concurrently with the student’s undergraduate degree. Students cannot delay degree completion to complete the certificate.

  1. Understand the proper presentation, measurement, and reporting financial statement elements and transactions, and the use of financial statement information for analysis purposes.
  2. Understand that financial and nonfinancial information serves numerous purposes in an organization, especially in relation to facilitating and influencing decisions.
  3. Document, evaluate, and recommend improvements to basic accounting information systems used to control processes and communicate information to be used in financial reporting.
  4. Understand the objective of taxes applicable at the federal level, and apply a framework for integrating income tax planning into accounting and business transactions as a foundation for structuring tax efficient business transactions.
  5. Gain technical knowledge about how to perform a high-quality audit, and gain familiarity with how independence, objectivity, professional skepticism, and ethical behavior contribute to a high-quality.

Advising

Advising is an integral part of any student’s educational journey in the Wisconsin School of Business Undergraduate Program. Starting at Student Orientation, Advising, and Registration (SOAR), we encourage all students to connect with academic advisors. Business academic advisors have a wealth of knowledge about courses on campus, as well as policies and procedures.

Business career coaches help students with career exploration, internships, resumes, job search, interviewing and more. We encourage students to connect with their career coach once they arrive on campus.

Business academic advisors and career coaches are passionate about student success. Students experiencing academic difficulty or personal struggles are encouraged to talk to their advisor about how their individual situation may affect their academic performance.

Assigned Academic and Career Coaches

For admitted business students, academic advisors and career coaches are assigned by academic major. If you have more than one major, you may have more than one assigned advisor and coach. You can find your assigned advisor and coach by logging into your Starfish portal through MyUW. 

For students not yet admitted to the Wisconsin School of Business, we have a team of pre-business advisors available to you.

Accessing Advising

Drop-in advising and scheduled appointments are available for admitted business students. Pre-business students may also schedule an appointment with a pre-business academic advisor or utilize drop-in academic advising. 

For more information on accessing academic advising, please see our academic advising page.

For more information on accessing career coaching, please see our career coaching page.

Students may direct questions about the IMAcc program to Kristen Fuhremann (kristen.fuhremann@wisc.edu), director of the program, or their academic or career advisor.

Careers

Accounting is the development and use of a system for recording and analyzing the financial transactions and financial status of an organization. Accountants are responsible for the record-keeping methods involved in making a financial record of business transactions and in the preparation of statements concerning the assets, liabilities, and operating results of a business.

Find out more about common industries for accounting and essential skills needed on the BBA Accounting website.

Accounting Faculty and Staff

For more information about the faculty and their research interests, please visit the directory.

Lindsay G. Acker, BBA, MAcc, CPA
Lecturer
lindsay.acker@wisc.edu

Willie Choi, BSBA, MAcc, Ph.D. 
Associate Professor
David J. Lesar Professor in Business
willie.choi@wisc.edu

Mark Covaleski, B.S., MBA, Ph.D.
Professor
Robert Beyer Professor in Accounting

Department Chair of Accounting & Information Systems
mark.covaleski@wisc.edu

Russell Epp, B.A., MPA, CPA, CISA, CFE, CIA
Lecturer
russell.epp@wisc.edu

Ruyun (Ivy) Feng, B.S., M.S., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
ivy.feng@wisc.edu

Kristen Fuhremann, BBA, MAcc, CPA
Faculty Associate
kristen.fuhremann@wisc.edu

Fabio Gaertner, B.S., M.S., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
fabio.gaertner@wisc.edu

Tony Greig, BCOM, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
tony.greig@wisc.edu

Emily Griffith, BBA, M.S., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
emily.griffith@wisc.edu

Matt Griffith, CPA, CFE, CISA
Lecturer
matt.griffith@wisc.edu

Paul Kimmel, BBA, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
pdkimmel@wisc.edu

Stacie Laplante, B.S., M.S., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
David J. Lesar Chair in Business

stacie.laplante@wisc.edu

Thomas Linsmeier, BBA, MBA, Ph.D.
Professor
Thomas G. Ragatz Accounting and Law Distinguished Chair

thomas.linsmeier@wisc.edu

Dan Lynch, B.S., M.S., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
daniel.lynch@wisc.edu

Ella Mae Matsumura, B.A., M.S., Ph.D.
Professor
Senior Associate Dean for Academic Programs
Director of the Beyer Center
ellamae.matsumura@wisc.edu

Brian Mayhew, BBA, Ph.D.
Professor
Associate Dean, Wisconsin BBA Program
Executive Director of the Arthur Andersen Center for Financial Reporting and Control
brian.mayhew@wisc.edu

Robert J. Misey Jr., BBA, MBA, J.D., LL.M.
Lecturer
rmisey@wisc.edu

Ann O'Brien, B.S., MBA, Ph.D.
Distinguished Senior Lecturer
ann.obrien@wisc.edu

Vallabh Sambamurthy, B.E., MBA, Ph.D. 
Albert O. Nicholas Dean
vsambamurthy@wisc.edu

Tyler Thomas, B.A., MBA, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
tyler.thomas@wisc.edu

Dan Wangerin, BBA, MPA, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
David J. Lesar Professor in Business
daniel.wangerin@wisc.edu

Joanna Wangerin, BBA, MPA
Lecturer
joanna.wangerin@wisc.edu

Terry Warfield, B.S., MBA, Ph.D.
Professor
PwC Professor in Accounting
Senior Associate Dean for Faculty and Research

terry.warfield@wisc.edu

John Wild, BBA, M.S., Ph.D.
Professor
john.wild@wisc.edu

Karla Zehms, BBA, M.S., Ph.D.
Professor
EY Professor in Accounting 

karla.zehms@wisc.edu