Administrative Unit: Communication Arts
College/School: College of Letters & Science
Admitting Plans: M.A., Ph.D.
Degrees Offered: M.A., Ph.D.
Minors and Certificates: Doctoral Minor
Specializations: Communication Science, Film, Media and Cultural Studies, Rhetoric Politics and Culture

Students may pursue the master of arts and the doctor of philosophy degrees in communication arts in one of the four areas of study: communication science, film, media and cultural studies, or rhetoric, politics, and culture (see descriptions below). Although terminal M.A. degrees may occasionally be awarded, the programs are designed primarily to meet the needs of Ph.D. candidates. The department anticipates that most students will accept positions as academics at the college and university level. To that end, the department seeks to train productive researchers, committed teachers, and engaged public intellectuals who recognize a responsibility to participate actively in the world beyond the university.

Faculty: Professors Xenos (chair), Asen, Conway, Gray, Howard, Jacobs, Lucas, Mares, Murphy, Pan, Smith, Van Swol, Zaeske; Associate Professors Hoyt, D. Johnson, J. Johnson, Lopez, McKinnon, Morris, Singer, Toma; Assistant Professor Belodubrovskaya