Administrative Unit: Political Science
College/School: College of Letters & Science
Admitting Plans: Ph.D.
Degrees Offered: M.A., Ph.D.
Minors and Certificates: Doctoral Minor

The Department of Political Science offers graduate study leading to the doctor of philosophy in political science. The department accepts students only for the Ph.D. program, but a master's degree can be obtained en route to the Ph.D.

The Ph.D. is earned through a combination of coursework and dissertation. The program is designed to provide students with both a general training in political science and the opportunity to specialize in their areas of interest.

The subfields of political science found in the department are American politics, comparative politics, political theory and philosophy, international relations, and political methodology. The department has a national and international reputation for the high quality of its faculty and for the diversity of their approaches and interests; the department has long been known for both collegiality and acceptance of varied approaches to the study of politics. Political science shares faculty with the Robert M. La Follette School of Public Affairs, the Law School, and the Department of Gender and Women's Studies. The presence of programs and centers such as the African Studies Program, the Center for European Studies, the Center for Jewish Studies, the Center for Russia, East Europe, and Central Asia (CREECA), Integrated Liberal Studies, the International Studies Major, Latin American, Caribbean and Iberian Studies, and others is also beneficial to graduate students, providing opportunities for the advancement of interdisciplinary approaches in student research.

Faculty: Professors Burden, Canon (chair), Cramer, Ewig, Gehlbach, Hendley, Herrera, Kydd, Marquez, Martin, Mayer, Owens, Pevehouse, Schatzberg, Schweber, Shafer, Straus, Tripp, Weimer, Yackee, Zumbrunnen; Associate ProfessorsAvramenko, Copelovitch, Kapust, Kinsella, Ringe, Shelef; Assistant Professors Bhavnani, Lindsay, Lupu, Powell, Renshon, Rousseliere, Schwarze, Simmons, Weeks, Tahk