Ph.D. students in English must complete a minor in a field or program other than English. (Students in any of the three English doctoral specializations may earn a distributed minor in either of the remaining two. For example, literary studies students may earn a distributed minor in composition and rhetoric or linguistics study, and so on.) Ph.D. candidates from other programs who wish to pursue a minor in English must secure advance approval of their proposed course of study from the director of graduate studies in English. A minor in English consists of 10–12 credits of graduate work with no grade lower than B. The department offers a minor in English (with concentrations in literature, composition and rhetoric, English language and linguistics) and a minor in creative writing with the approval of the creative writing faculty.

Faculty: Professors Levine (chair), Auerbach, Barry, Begam, Bernard-Donals, Bernstein, Bow, Britland, Castronovo, Dharwadker, Ford, Friedman, Guyer, Hill, Johnson, Keller, Kelley, Kercheval, McKenzie, Mitchell, Olaniyan, Ortiz-Robles, Purnell, Raimy, Sherrard-Johnson, Steele, Wallace, Wanner, M. Young, R. Young, Zimmerman; Associate Professors Allewaert, Bearden, Cooper, Foys, Olson, Trotter, Samuels, Valenza, Yu; Assistant Professors Calhoun, Cho, Elsky, Evans, Fawaz, Hussen-Levy, Tanoukhi, Vareschi, Vieira, Zweck